How to get your Utah Food Handlers Card

A Utah Food Handlers Permit is required for food handlers working in Utah. Your Food Handlers Permit must be issued by the Utah County where you will be working. Your permit is valid for 3 years and is accepted in all Utah counties.

To earn your Food Handlers Card, follow these steps for the Online Training:
  • Make sure you need a Food Handler Permit.
    Not every food worker is required under Utah Law. If you have questions, ask your employer or your local county health official.
  • Make sure you do not need Manager's Food Safety training.
    If you will be acting as the Person-In-Charge, you may need a more extensive course. If you have questions, ask your employer or your local County health official.
  • Find a Utah approved online training provider like eFoodhandlers Inc.
    Please be aware that there is an extra $15 Health Department Fee that is charged by Utah for the processing of your permit. This is assessed during the time of payment.
  • Take the food safety training class specifically built around Utah laws.
    Upon completion, you will earn a Certificate of Completion which entitles you to work in food service work until your permanent permit arrives.
  • Your Permit should arrive by mail.
    This can take up to 30 days. Contact Customer Service or your local health department if it does not arrive.

Only $7.00, 100% Online

eFoodHandlers Logo is officially approved by the State of Utah.
Utah seal and

Have more questions? Check out our FAQ below, click on live chat, or email us at


Do I have to take the course all at once, or can I study at my own pace?

Either. eFoodhandlers has two courses: an interactive, multi-media course and a text-based course that allow you to read through materials at your own pace. You can take breaks at the end of a chapter.

How long does the course take?

Generally around an hour to hour and a half depending on the course and your comfort with the materials.

How many times can I take the exam?

You can take the exam as many time as required. However, after 2 failed attempts, you must retake the course. There is not an extra charge for retaking the course.

How long is my Food Handlers Card valid?

It is valid for 3 years. At the end of that period, you will need to retake the course and pass the exam. eFoodhandlers makes that process simple and straightforward.

Is Free Food Handlers training available to those in need?

Yes. Contact and ask about our Scholarship options.

Reviews for our Basic Food Safety Training Program